Driving is a symbol of independence in our culture, and those who drive want to be able to do so as long as they can.Read more
Aging Drivers and the Law
- May 26th, 2017
For better or for worse, our current culture is very car-dependant; in many places, cars are the only convenient link to the outside world. Unfortunately, as people age, driving can become more difficult and more dangerous. The elderly drive less, but have more crashes per mile than younger drivers. This is partially because elderly individuals are more likely to be affected by poor eyesight, chronic disease, and medications that might impair driving.
States vary widely on how they treat older drivers. (For information each state's license renewal procedures, click here.) While no state will revoke a driver's license based only on the driver's age, some states put restrictions on license renewals for elderly drivers. Other states do not differentiate based on age, and still others have fewer requirements for older drivers.
Local Elder Law Attorneys in Ashburn, VA
Law Offices of John L. Laster
John Laster is a lawyer licensed to practice in Virginia, Maryland and the District of Columbia. He limits his practice to wealth transfer planning, trusts, wills, powers of attorney, health care decision-making issues, estate administration and related tax, elder law and disability concerns. Listed in The Best Lawyers...
Hale Ball Carlson Baumgartner Murphy PLC
Attorney Samantha Simmons Fredieu is an associate at Hale Ball. Ms. Fredieu graduated magna cum laude from Vermont Law School where she was the symposium editor on the Vermont Law Review, a production editor on the Vermont Journal of Environmental Law, and a member of the Moot Court Advisory Board. She has clerked for...
The states that put restrictions on license renewals do so in a number of ways. Many have accelerated renewal periods for people over a certain age. These periods can vary widely. For example, Arizona requires everyone age 65 and older to renew their license every five years as opposed to every 12 years for people under age 65. Illinois has a 4-year renewal period, but the period shortens to two years if the driver is between the ages of 81 and 86, and then to 1 year if the driver is age 87 or older.
Some states require elderly drivers to take a vision test when renewing a license. Another way states monitor older drivers is by not allowing drivers over a certain age to renew their licenses by mail. Finally, Illinois requires a road test if the driver is 75 years old or older.
While not all states put restrictions on license renewals, all state Departments of Motor Vehicles, Highway Safety, or Transportation have an office where a family member or doctor can make a referral about an unsafe driver. The state office will investigate the claim, and the driver may have to take a road test. Doctors are generally not required to report patients they feel are unsafe. In California, however, doctors must report demented patients and in California and a few other states doctors must report patients with epilepsy.
For information on state license renewal procedures, go to: http://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/laws/olderdrivers?topicName=older-drivers
For an article on confronting an aging driver, go here: https://www.elderlawanswers.com/confronting-an-aging-and-unsafe-driver-3766
Last Modified: 05/26/2017